Once Upon A Prince book review

_225_350_Book.858.coverOnce Upon a Prince: Book #1 in the Royal Wedding series by Rachel Hauck is a fictional modern day romance.

Who could possibly help Susanna after the soldier she’s been dating for twelve years breaks off their relationship because he loves someone else? Who can help her when she suddenly quits her job as a landscape architect and ends up working at her parents’ restaurant? And who can help her when she finds herself being confronted by a vagrant after her tire goes flat? Of course! A prince! Prince Nathaniel. But she obviously doesn’t know he’s a prince. Susanna’s mom has him cleaning toilets and bussing tables at Rib Shack until Susanna recognizes his face on a coin from his country, Brighton. Though Nathaniel begins to develop affections towards Susanna, he explains that Brighton law prohibits royalty from marrying foreigners. Now what are they to do?

I enjoyed the twists and turns, vivid location descriptions and emotional tugs of this book. More than once, I found myself reading “one more chapter” just because I couldn’t leave the characters in their current state of turmoil. Romance and princes are my preferred elements in any book!

There was one character I couldn’t quite figure out why she was in the book at all, Aurora. She is an eccentric tent dwelling former politician who seems to prophetically declare what’s going to happen. I just didn’t see the need to add her to the storyline.

However, overall, I was very pleased with this e-book and will look for other books in this series in the future.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About bethanyswanson

I am a Christ follower, wife, mother, writer, teacher, artist, cook, sister, daughter, grand-daughter, friend, laundry lady, house keeper, taxi service, sensory of movies and tv, and work in progress.
Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Once Upon A Prince book review

  1. booklovers1 says:

    I have heard mixed reviews about this book. Some like it but found that it lacked romance, and others sounded like yours, which makes me want to read it ….. maybe I will just borrow it from the library.

Leave a Reply

