Classroom Visitor

March of 2007, I had a visitor in my classroom for the first time. I hope it is the last time too.

I was the first week that the weather was warmer. The kids had spotted him the day before he came to visit me.

School had been out for a few hours and I was grading paper. The room was quiet until I spoke. But I am getting a head of myself. I spoke only after feeling something on my foot, looking down and seeing an alligator lizard crawling out from under the table. I never screamed, but I did let out a vibrato-like, “Mr. Bill! Mr. Bill!” Mr. Bill is our loyal handyman – in this case – zoo keeper.

I had to leave the room to find Mr. Bill. When he finally was found and entered to rid my room of the lizard, he jumped back a bit too. He described it as the size of an alligator.  From head to tip of the tail he was about fourteen inches (and that isn’t a fish story).

Well a few dance steps with the lizard later, and my visitor was in a jar. I wanted my administrator to know my working conditions. I placed my visitor on the counter only to have her calmly look at it and say, “Are we trying to smother the poor thing?”

Well that was WAY too calm of a response to a point in my life that raised my blood pressure a few points.

Needless to say, he is safe in someone’s bushes enjoying life again – hopefully to never return to my room.

About bethanyswanson

I am a Christ follower, wife, mother, writer, teacher, artist, cook, sister, daughter, grand-daughter, friend, laundry lady, house keeper, taxi service, sensory of movies and tv, and work in progress.
This entry was posted in Everyday Living, Stories of Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

