One-Handed Tasking

Once again, God spoke to me though my child.

I gave an undesirable task to my son as I called him to the kitchen. I wanted it to be complete before dinner.  He had been called from his technological coma.  DS in hand, he half-hearted listened as I relayed in detail the chore and the method by which I wanted it to be completed.   He reluctantly began – tech toy in hand.

I left him trusting he would complete all in which I asked.

Some three minutes later, our paths crossed again and the manner in which he completed his task caught my eye.  The situation upon his screen had demanded further effort, so he dropped the utensil he used to work towards completing the task I had given him in order to tap his stylus numerous times.  Then repeatedly he pressed one of the buttons along the side.  He reached to take up the utensil once again, but his hand retrieved the stylus.  He panicked at the possibility of failure to beat the given opponent upon his screen.  It took him at least twice the allotted time necessary to complete the task I had given him.

Yes, he completed the designated chore.  No, I do not know if he successfully conquered in his attempts within his artificial world.  However, I realized that I too frequently complete my important duties (being a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a teacher, a child of God) with less than my best because something else I have manufactured steals my attention.

Today, may I put off those things which hinder me or hold me back to do those things which reap eternal reward and the blessing from the One whom bestowed the opportunity in the first place.

So I ask you, what is hindering you today?  What is the priority in this moment?  Fifty years from now, what will really matter?

About bethanyswanson

I am a Christ follower, wife, mother, writer, teacher, artist, cook, sister, daughter, grand-daughter, friend, laundry lady, house keeper, taxi service, sensory of movies and tv, and work in progress.
This entry was posted in Everyday Living, Stories of Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

