Practicing Grace

I truly believe that God allows me to experience events within the lives of my children in

Elena Marie

order to reveal how I respond in like to Him.

 

My dear, servant-hearted daughter brought me a bowl of peanut butter and honey.  As she handed it to me, she explained, “I made this just for you.”  I evaluated the quantity which remained within the bottom of the bowl as well as observed a previously licked spoon.  It was evident that she had first helped herself to the treat before offering it to me.

Grateful for her gift and extending a portion of the grace Christ has provided to me, I accepted and ate it joyfully as she looked on.

How many times do I too skim from the top of the blessings God has given to me before offering them to another in order to ease my own conscience?  How much grace has it required of Him to accept my less than best gifts?

About bethanyswanson

I am a Christ follower, wife, mother, writer, teacher, artist, cook, sister, daughter, grand-daughter, friend, laundry lady, house keeper, taxi service, sensory of movies and tv, and work in progress.
This entry was posted in Everyday Living, Stories of Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

