Celebration!

Isaiah was baptized yesterday; yes, Halloween.  The joy of sharing in his public statement of faith is fantastic.

Paul, his father, performed the baptism after Elena read the scripture he chose.  She read: “Matthew 10:16, I am sending you out like sheep among wolves.  Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves.”

I then read, “Isaiah,

We agreed when we were picking names that Dad would pick the boy’s names.  When he came up with the name Isaiah, I looked up the meaning. Yahweh (or God) is salvation.  I agreed.  It was perfect.

You were sensitive to spiritual matters early in your life.

There was a day when you were five and you and I were sitting at the kitchen table.  We spoke about God, sin and His forgiveness.  You asked if you could pray and ask for forgiveness.  I was overjoyed to pray with you.

You asked some greatest questions.  Why did God make the Devil?  What if I accidentally sin?  Why do some people not want to love God?

I remember the day just a few years ago when you said, “Mom, somedays I don’t feel like a Christian.”  What a blessing it has been to speak of God, His character and your relationship with Him!

You are smart and artistic.  Keep using your gifts for His glory!

Dad and I have vowed to pray for you every day.  We have and we will continue to do so.  We are proud of the choice you are making to declare before these in attendance of your relationship with Christ.

We love you Isaiah!”

About bethanyswanson

I am a Christ follower, wife, mother, writer, teacher, artist, cook, sister, daughter, grand-daughter, friend, laundry lady, house keeper, taxi service, sensory of movies and tv, and work in progress.
This entry was posted in Everyday Living, Stories of Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebration!

  1. Jenn Mealy says:

    That is so cool! I cried when I read it! Thanks for sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

