A Written Bouquet

You know how some things make you feel better, like chicken soup when you’re sick, lemon-honey tea when your throat is sore, a greeting card when you are sad or a hug when you are lonely?  I had an unexpected “feel better” moment today.

I was able to get my laptop back two days earlier than Best Buy had projected.  The evening I got it back, I ended up making about 10 dozen cookies so I didn’t have time to do much with it.

I went to bed excited at the prospect of writing all day Wednesday.

I woke up at three AM very sick.  I spend all day sleeping until the kids came home.

When my son walked in the door, he looked like I felt.  One moment with my hand on his forehead and I knew he as feverish.  When I took his temperature, it was 102*.  We took a nap and then sat in the urgent care for three hours.  Why is it called urgent care?  It should be “if it’s urgent, you will have to wait care”.

Any way, I spent the majority of today sleeping as well.  When I finally did wake up, I got very excited at the prospect of writing.  I wrote for about two hours.  It was as though I had recovered from a two week illness or gotten a great bouquet of flowers, but it was my computer that was sick.  Well, I guess I am now sick, but I am able to heal my heart by writing even while my body is ill.  Ah, the written word!  A written bouquet!  Medicinal!

About bethanyswanson

I am a Christ follower, wife, mother, writer, teacher, artist, cook, sister, daughter, grand-daughter, friend, laundry lady, house keeper, taxi service, sensory of movies and tv, and work in progress.
This entry was posted in Everyday Living, Stories of Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Written Bouquet

  1. I love it! Keep writing! I can’t wait for people to read your piece in the Blank Page Journal! 😉

    Love you cousin!

Leave a Reply

