A Prayer For the Foolishness of God

O God, give me power and wisdom now, but that of another kind.
Keep before me all that I cannot do and do not know and help me to find my identity there.
Give me your strength through my weakness and your wisdom through my simplicity.
And what power and wisdom I already have, help me to bring into the service of your kingdom and in the nature of your Christ.
Put upon my life the circumstances that cause me to be weak and foolish, and keep me there.
Impede my progress in the power and wisdom that I, by nature, seek and put me into the company of those whose power and wisdom is not of this world.
Set before me the daily memory and example of Christ who was before all things, yet made Himself nothing; who was rich, yet for our sake became poor.
Encourage me, through the Holy Spirit, to flee from the authority and applause of men into the dark and secret places where virtue grows, giants dwell and God [abides].
Amen

(author unknown)

About bethanyswanson

I am a Christ follower, wife, mother, writer, teacher, artist, cook, sister, daughter, grand-daughter, friend, laundry lady, house keeper, taxi service, sensory of movies and tv, and work in progress.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

